The Travellers, My First Book!

My main passion in life is being a writer. Maybe that is clear but I have yet to truly dedicate myself to this passion. And I am yet to believe in myself. The only one book I have finished so far is a story called The Travellers. It boosts something that I truly enjoy, a mesh of science-fiction and fantasy with an incredible level of realism. Strange. I know! But I love it and I hope you will too. To me its a great new world that is yet to be fully realised.

The story is set during an apocalyptic scene in an alien world. A boy called Roul takes us through the journey of hope and despair. In his own words, the words of an eight year old, we see love and friendship mixed together with a great possibility. Or “Opportunity!” But this opportunity is in pale comparison to the horror of their world being destroyed and the creation of the first Travellers.

I hope you would be interested in getting a copy, it would mean a lot to me. Get copies on these sites, Createspace, Amazon Paperback and an Audiobook.

41jGJVPITRL

Here is a little sample of the story.

Getting out of the forest was a lot harder than Arrel made it seem. Or maybe it was my fault because I wouldn’t stop asking questions.

“So what is this tree called?” I insisted for the fifteenth different tree I saw that day.

“I don’t know!” Arrel was clearly bothered with me, this was the same answer he kept offering after the third tree. But I didn’t care, I was just excited to talk and he was actually listening to me. My dad would have interrupted like thirty times already and gone on to give long speeches.

“Are any of them edible?” I asked this question because I was hungry. It had been nearly four hours and we were nowhere near any food.

“If its bright, its edible.” Arrel nearly bit his tongue drooling out the answer as bored as he could. He turned to look back at the others and I did so too, almost mimicking everything he did. They were much more sluggish than I was. Detter was the only one still walking straight, most of the others were hunkered over and using vines to pull their bodies forward. “We have to hurry up, we are nearly out of the jungle.” Arrel’s words only inspired more angry looks from the rest of them.

“Who made you the boss?” Harl shouted up.

“I know the way so I’m the boss. If you have problem with it, find your own way.” Arrel said and turned his full focus back onto the road. I did to. It felt good being at the lead. I was actually part of something. It was a great adventure with my new best friends. Well, not best entirely, just getting to know one another by walking through a jungle for hours on end. It was fun for me and for this reason; I was the only one of them with a big grin plastered on my face. And this bothered Arrel more than I realised. In my mind, if he became my friend then it wouldn’t matter how often I talked to his sister; and Darrol was right behind me, trying to walk as fast as the two of us. It was so cool.

“Could we go looking for the edible bright ones?” I asked coolly but this time Arrel threw his hands in the air exasperated.

“No, no, NO!” He turned to me, bringing the whole line to a stop. “You never stop talking do you. This is why I just don’t like kids. Its just jabber jabber jabber all day long. For one second, if could you just please please please let me concentrate on where we are going so at the very least we don’t get lost. If you can’t give me that then I promise you I will throw you into a crater.” My big unrelenting smile started to vanish until Luther laughed. Then everyone laughed for some reason. I wasn’t sure if they were laughing at Arrel or me, but neither of us joined in.

Leave a Reply

